January 2021 -- Tevet-Shevat 5781,  Volume 27, Issue 1

c2021 Shoreline Publishing, Inc.      629 Fifth Avenue, Suite 213, Pelham, NY 10803      P: 914-738-7869      hp@shorelinepub.com

Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service Observed in County

The JCC of Mid Westchester and the Harold and Elaine Shames Jewish Community Center on the Hudson will observe the Martin Luther King Jr.  Day of Service on January 18 at 1pm, by packing Blizzard Boxes to address food insecurity at 999 Wilmot Road, Scarsdale.

 

A Multi-Genre Musical Celebration on MLK Day will also take place on Monday, January 18, 2021 from 2-3:30pm (PST), 3-4:30pm (MST), 4-5:30pm (CST), 5-6:30pm (EST) on Zoom sponsored by The JCC of Mid Westchester and the National JCC Adult and Senior Alliance. Songs of Dreams…. is created by the Osher Marin JCC (San Rafael, CA).

 

“…even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream. I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal...”

 

Martin Luther King, Jr’s famous 1963 speech still resonates today. To celebrate this visionary leader, join James Sokol to journey through an array of music – Broadway, pop, opera and more! – exploring the theme of “dreams.”

 

James Sokol started in the opera world under the leadership of Beverly Sills at New York City Opera. After working on projects with the Opera Company of Philadelphia while in graduate school, Sokol moved west to work at San Francisco Opera. He is a former Executive Director of Pocket Opera and a Founding Member of the Singers Development Foundation. He has been teaching throughout the SF Bay Area for over 25-years including at San Francisco Opera, College of Marin, University of San Francisco’s Fromm Institute, Santa Rosa Junior College, the Osher Lifelong Learning Institutes at Dominican University and Sonoma State University, and for several other organizations.

 

Sokol is the Director of the Kurland Center for Adult Learning & Living at the Osher Marin JCC (San Rafael, CA) where he is responsible for online and in-person programs.

 

In addition, he curates and leads Cultural Arts Trips including the annual The Best of Broadway: Mostly Musicals trips to NYC, Exploring Opera trips to NYC and Santa Fe as well as general interest trips around the world. Favorite international destinations where he has taken groups include Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, India, Italy, Morocco, The Netherlands, Romania, Spain, and Vietnam.

 

Call the JCC of Mid Westchester at 725-7300 for more information or visit jccmw.org to register for these programs. For the concert, all tickets are per device, not per person, on Zoom, and are non-refundable and non-exchangeable.